Jessica: “No matter what kind of dance it is, we make it womanlike, that’s how SNSD does it.”

Jessica

‘Truthfully, we are really energetic kids’

Jessica: “No matter what kind of dance it is, we make it womanlike, that’s how SNSD does it.”

When you guys won 1st place with ‘Gee’, how did you guys feel? It seemed like you guys were about to cry.
Jessica: It has been nine months since all nine of us were united. As we prepared for our album, we went through a lot. That’s why we were emotional.

Were you guys worried about your comeback?
Seohyun: I felt like we were debuting again.
Jessica: People gave much love to us back when we were promoting our 1st album.
However, when our preparation for second album took longer than we expected, I was really worried, “What if they don’t wait for us anymore?”

“I think we are more mature, I feel like we are new college students?”

Tiffany:”It was really enjoyable during the encore, while we screamed at each other’s faces.”

I noticed you guys were really excited after winning 1st place several times; especially, during the encore.
Tiffany: When we…won 1st place, we cried a lot. The moment when they announced we won 1st place, I had a brief flashback of our nine months preparation period. I felt so grateful for those who helped us. We wanted to tell them how thankful we were. So we did (laughs). It was really enjoyable during the encore, while we screamed at
each other’s faces.

Yoona, you couldn’t throw the bouquet to the audience very well. (laughs)
Yoona: Haha. Because of my drama filming, I wasn’t fully prepared compared to the other
members. So that’s why I tried really hard to not make them worry about me.
With good results, I realized the importance of our members all the more.

It seems you enjoyed being with other members on stage?
Yoona: People gave much love when I was on ‘Your Are My Destiny’. However, it was a challenging role for me, since Saebyuk’s age was older than mine. But I’m really happy when I’m with the other members.
Tiffany: We’ve been close. But during our long hiatus, we grew closer to each other, like sisters. You may
notice how close we are, like when we are on stage.

I see that you guys have great teamwork and worked hard preparing ‘Gee’. How did you guys feel when the concept ‘Gee’ was announced to the public?
Sooyoung: When we were promoting ‘Girls’ Generation’, we wore skirts and high heel shoes. Our image was womanlike. Now, we are more active with jeans. Truthfully, we are really energetic kids (laughs). So I think this concept suits us well.
Tiffany: Our outfits for the 1st album had intricate designs. Back then, we thought it would be
cool to wear jeans. Now that we are wearing jeans, we run around happily with bright expressions.

I think the ‘Gee’ concept reflects how SNSD changed during a nine months absence. You guys are trendier and more mature.
Taeyeon: ‘Kissing You’ and “Girls’ Generation” were just cute, you know? We had like little bear accessories. Now, I feel like we’re new college students.
Tiffany: It’s exactly one year since then. Back then, I felt like I was a high school student. Now, I feel like I’m a college student. I don’t find it awkward when I dance along to ‘Kissing You’. Thing is, it feels like we sang that song a long time ago.

“Did we had a crush on someone? Of course”.

Yuri:”We even used our imaginations to describe the feel of ‘So bright So bright, My eyes are blinded’ “.

Still, don’t you think the lyrics in ‘Gee’ greatly emphasize cuteness?
Taeyeon: At first, I thought ‘Gee’ was too childish. But I changed my mind when I realized the lyrics flowed
smoothly with the melody of the song.
Yuri: Compared to the lyrics in previous songs, lyrics in ‘Gee’ are more directly how one would feel when they see someone they like. It reminded me how I felt when that happened to me.

Did that happen to any of you guys?
Hyoyeon: A crush? Yes, of course.
Sooyoung: We’ve all had a crush. Well…except maknae (laughs)
Seohyun: I’ve never had a crush. (laughs)

However, not everyone’s really like that, if they have a crush *referring to the part ‘So bright so bright My eyes are blinded*
Hyoyeon: I think ‘Gee’ is about how one feels when they have a crush. He/she doesn’t know you, but you secretly like him/her. Don’t you think your eyes will be blinded by that? Well, I’m sure that won’t happen when you actually date someone. (laughs)

Each member has a distinct part in ‘Gee’. I think you guys have to really concentrate when it’s your turn to sing and show people who you are at that instant.
Sooyoung: Yup. Each member quickly takes turn and sings. Next, another member comes up and sings. Consequently, this incites audience’s curiosity over who will sing next. With this kind of mood, we have to really show people our charms quickly. For example, if Seohyun sings really well in the beginning, then I have sing as good as her; also, I can’t be louder than her. If I were to sing my part weakly, then there would be a clear distinction among members of who did well and who didn’t do well.

Is that why you guys practice a lot, singing and dancing?
Seohyun: During our 1st album promotion days, we just worked hard. Now, I have a bigger vision for our future performances. Back then we would sing well but our facial expression were kind of weird. So we need to
improve on that.

When you guys were preparing for the ‘Gee’ dance, were they any particular moves, which you guys practiced more?
Jessica: I think we need to have the appropriate facial expression that matches our body lines. No matter what kind of dance it is, there is always a way to make it womanlike. I think that’s SNSD’s strong point.
Hyoyeon: Whenever I practice, I always focus on the body lines. I’m confident in manly dancing, but when it comes to sexy dances um…(points to Sooyoung) kids who have long body lines look pretty. I do my best to bring out the feel of the dance.

Leave a Reply

