SNSD: “As we grow, I think we’ll show you guys how we change.”

SNSD

As we grow, I think we’ll show you guys how we change.

What brings up conflicts?
Hyoyeon: Just trivial things, such as who will use washroom first. If I wash late, then I would have to prepare faster.
Taeyeon: As times goes by, we gain know-hows on how we can speed up the process.

I guess members cheer each other up when someone is feeling blue.
Tiffany: Yes! Members give me strength when I am lonely and when something bad happens. I don’t have my family living here but if I am with members, I don’t really miss my family. Because members take care of me well. So my parent calls me first and says “Why aren’t you giving me a call!”. I am very sorry. (laughs)

“We often send embarrassing text messages to members who are doing solo activities.”

Seohyun: “Unnies protect me.”

Doesn’t each member have a specific role when you live together?
Hyoyeon: It’s different everyday.
Sooyoung: I was so amazed today. Because Jessica woke me up today. (laughs) She is such a sleepyhead…it was the first time she woke me up since our debut.
Taeyeon: Sleeping beauty. (laughs)
Sooyoung: That sleeping beauty woke me up. We usually have to do all kinds of things to make her wake up, but today she woke me up. So I realized, ‘Jessica woke me up. I must be really late’, and I woke up immediately.
Jessica: Yes you were really late. (laughs)

Does the leader’s role have any affect on team’s atmosphere?
Taeyeon : Not at all. (laughs) Actually I take opinions from others more. We are pretty harmonious, so no one really takes the leadership.

I watched MBC Everyone1 Idol Army show, and Seohyun checked her wink with the unnies?
Jessica: Yes, she did. She’s not good at winking, so after, she said “I did like this. How was it?”. It’s because she’s so innocent haha.

Any benefits being the Maknae?
Taeyeon: “Maknae on top”! *meaning Maknae bosses her unnies.
Tiffany: She says “Unnie, don’t do that” to us.
Jessica: (Looking at Seohyun who was coming back from photo shooting) “On top” is coming. Come here “On top”.
Taeyeon: She often asks questions because she’s so innocent. We are also clumsy and there are many things we don’t know, but she asks, “Unnie, what should I do in this situation?”. She’s really cute.
Tiffany: So if someone comes up to her, We’d say, “No! She’s our Maknae!” and want to protect her.

Really??
Seohyun: Yes!

How does it feel to do solo activities? You seem to highly value the group identity.
Taeyeon: It’s sometimes awkward doing solo activities. I think it’s good to have members around me.
Sooyoung: When Taeyeon is promoting an OST and is recording shows alone, we’d send embarrassing messages like, “Think that we are by your side”. (laughs) I guess Yoona and Taeyeon would know the best.

I guess group activities mean a whole lot to Yoona. You were very busy filming the drama.
Yoona: That’s right. It’s fun to do activities as SNSD, even though it’s tiring. It’s different from solo activities. The drama indeed influenced me a lot. For the first time, I took the leading role, and many people now recognize me because of that. And more importantly, it made SNSD more known to public. Some say “She’s Saebyuk!” looking at me, but some others would say “She’s SNSD!”.

“Song writing, photographing, business, piano.. there are too many things I want to learn”

Sunny: “I want to study music more.”

Taeyeon, you appeared in ‘Radio star’ with musicians in 40s, 50s, and are in “We Got Married” with Jung Hyongdon. How does feel to be in a new environment?
Taeyeon: I am more comfortable working with someone who is older than me. In “Radio Star”, I think it went well because they were my musician Sunbaenims. And for ‘We Got Married’ so far I am having fun, because other members often appeared together and Hyungdon oppa is taking good care of me.

What would SNSD be like in mid 20’s?
Yuri: At first we were like high school girls, but there are people who already look at us as college girls. You will find us growing up as we change our concepts.
Jessica: Whenever concepts change on stages, it shows more individuality like “This girl looks more mature now” “This girl became a lot prettier”. That’s how we show our changes. When we reach that age, we will change accordingly.

What would you like to do in the future?
Taeyeon: Song composing. If I am given a chance, I’d like to put my song in an SNSD album.
Yuri: It maybe a recklessness challenge now, but since I like taking pictures, I’d like to publish a photobook someday like Bae Duna sunbaenim.
Hyoyeon: I think I have a lot to learn in singing and dancing still. I will practice more singing. And sexy dance singers are cool, but there aren’t many powerful female solo dance singers, right? If I were to become one of the best like BoA unnie, I’d have to practice more.
Seohyun: Song composing. I learned classical piano, but I want to learn jazz piano too. I want to learn as many things as possible so that I won’t have any regrets later.
Jessica: I want to study music business. I am preparing a little for the time when I get chance to study. I have a lot of interests in fashion too.
Sunny: I want to study more music. If I continue do this kind of work (meeting people and learn little by little), that would be great. I think it’s best to show ability to where I am only capable of.
Sooyoung: Similar to Yuri, I want to study photography. I like writing too, so I’d like to publish a travel journal.
Yuri: It would be cool if we could work together and not compete.
Sooyoung: Take pictures of each other!
Yoona: I want to continue both acting and singing. Singing is fun and acting has that longing feeling when it’s done. I want to keep feeling this happiness doing both.
Tiffany: I want to continue singing. As I get older, I want to be a singer that has an endless passion for music and stage performances. Anyways, I want to sing until the end!!

Last question. What is SNSD to you?
Yoona : My 2nd family.
Others : Agreed!

SOSHIFIED~

Leave a Reply

